Subject Hub2018-07-18T08:21:47+00:00

Professional Development

NELTA offers a range of programmes from initial teacher training to senior leadership development

Initial Teacher Training Programme
National Priorities for Trainee Teachers

Subject Hub

“Where teachers connect”

At an initial launch in 2014, a variety of Hubs were set up across subjects and interest areas. In 2016 we re-launched the HUBS after appointing a NELTA Subject Network Leader and started up a few new Subject Hubs (English, Sociology, Psychology, Geography, RS and Ethics, PE) as well as re-invigorated existing Hubs.

Hub meetings provide a platform where teachers can connect and not only share ideas but also discuss strategies implemented in different schools to improve attainment, progress and the development of new curricula. Hub leaders have the autonomy to direct the activities of their own groups but with the guidance and support of a NELTA employed subject hub director. Feedback from hubs has been very positive in terms of sharing knowledge and expertise and implementing school to school support.

Format

The Subject Hubs meet three times a year at Beal High School or at times and venues more suitable to the individual networks. We take a very flexible approach in terms of how the individual hubs work and will support networking opportunities in any way we can.

Between sessions, actions are completed ready to report at the next meeting.

Hubs have freedom to set their own agendas and scope for professional development. Each Hub has varying priorities and the Hub Lead is responsible for facilitating the upcoming agenda.

Items already discussed

• Setting up electronic methods of sharing and collaboration,
• Taking networking beyond face-to-face meetings,
• Raising attainment for A8 in year 11 and meeting progress targets for P8
• Exam board results analysis or other means to target intervention.

Subject Testimonials

Hub Leader 

“The Business and Economics network has enabled us to share what we have found to be common problems across schools. Resources have been shared of visits made to schools to look at good practice in action. The real work often takes place after the meetings either face to face or electronically.”

Forest Academy

“NELTA networks enable professionals to share good practice and play a vital part at the heart of school improvement. We have so much to learn from each other and NELTA empowers schools to make this happen.”

Hub Leader

“The MFL hub has contributed to raising the achievement of our students by being the platform for conversations on certain important topics such as interpreting data, early diagnosis and realistic target setting in Modern Languages”

Currently Operating Hubs and Hub Lead

Tim Punter

Business

tpunter@bealhighschool.co.uk

Almira Buemio

DT

abuemio@thelammas.com

Ronald Pillay

English

rpillay@thelammas.com

Ashleigh Whitley

Geaography

a.whitley@ichs.org.uk

No lead yet

History

Contact if interested

Bradley Cook

Maths

bcook@woodbridge.redbridge.sch.uk

Bruno Mendez

MFL

bmendez@beal.redbridge.sch.uk

Heather Roberson

Music

h.cheadle@theforestacademy.co.uk

Lee Vickers

Pastoral

lvi@eastbury.bardaglea.org.uk

Fazila Hakim

Psychology

fhakim@thelammas.com

Simon Shaw

Sociology

sshaw@woodbridge.redbridge.sch.uk

Rachel Chirimuuta

RS/Ethics

rchirimuuta@thelammas.com

Talvinder Bhullar

NELTA SLT

TBhullar@woodbridge.redbridge.sch.uk

If you have any questions please contact Liz Irving at lirving@nelta.co.uk

Subject Knowledge Hubs info